Please sign in to post.

best time to buy airline tickets for Sept/Oct 2011 trip?

I don't have enough frequent flier miles this time, so I'm going to have to pay for plane tickets to Italy a fall 2011 trip. It's been a while since I've had to pay for tickets to Europe. Does anyone have have any idea of behavior of fares these days? Should I buy in a month or two, when the tickets first become available? Or is there a time of the year that might result in lower fares? I can't wait until the last minute, since my timing needs to be locked down a few months ahead. Any suggestions? Crystal balls? Thanks!

Posted by
23331 posts

The best answer is - Buy when you think the price is right. Most forecast is for ticket prices to be high and stay high.

Posted by
951 posts

I typically leave for my trips to Europe in November. I have been purchasing my tickets in June for the past 3 years. I usually start paying attention to airfare in January and when it seems that it is a decent fare, I purchase. For the past 3 years, purchasing 6 months in advance, the flight cost has never gone down and infact only has gone up. So kudos for me on going by my intuition. So it takes patience, a little obsession, and a whole bunch of montitoring.

Posted by
12172 posts